OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYesterday was so beautiful, that I went hiking to the Indian Rock House in the Buffalo National forest with a few friends. Today? Wind blowing 30 MPH and snowing like crazy. If the old saying about March coming in like a lion and going out like a lamb holds true, it looks like the end of the month will be pretty nice. At any rate, it gave me a chance to get caught up on a few things. When snowed in on a fine March day, what is a girl to do? Why, make some cornbread to go with the early St. Patrick’s day meal that Mom is making tonight, that’s what. Being gluten free because of an unfortunate wheat allergy, I often turn to one of my favorite gluten free blogs, www.glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com . I found a recipe for a slightly non-traditional cornbread, Sweet Potato Cornbread. Given the surplus of sweet potatoes that we harvested last fall, this sounded like a winner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo I put together the dry ingredients..OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAsmashed the sweet potatoesOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAwhipped it all together…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAbaked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, until the toothpick came out clean.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA…Then I HAD to test a piece. What’s a girl to do? I couldn’t take cornbread to Mom’s house without making sure that it was good enough. It was.

