ImageThere are lots of advantages to living in the woods like I do. One of the few disadvantages, one of the VERY few, is that when I want something special for dinner, like sushi, I have to drive 30 miles away; which after a long day at work makes sushi sound a little less attractive. However, I have made it at home. That’s what I decided to do last night, in fact. Now, wait just a minute….you don’t like sushi? “Eeeewwwww! How can you eat RAW FISH!?!?!?!?!?”, you may be thinking. Allow me to educate you a bit. Sashimi is raw fish, and while sushi may actually include raw fish, sushi actually means, “vinegared rice”, and some pieces of sushi actually do not have raw fish. Though believe me when I say, I actually DO like raw fish. Don’t knock it if you haven’t tried it. Anyway, here’s how I make it.

Image

Cook the rice according to the directions on the package. Mine said rinse 1 cup of rice until the water runs clear, then add it to 1 1/4 cup of cold water, bring to a boil, lower heat and cover. Simmer for about 20 minutes. Then add 2 Tablespoons of rice wine vinegar, stir and allow to rest. You don’t want to burn your hands with rice.

ImagePat it out in the middle of the Nori. You might notice that the Nori is scored for cutting. If the rice is sticking to your hands too badly, just dip your hand into some cold water while patting the rice out. Then add your ingredients. I used mock crab, avocado and red peppers. Your only limitation is you taste buds.

Image

Roll it up tight, jelly roll style. No need for a fancy shmancy bamboo mat or anything like that. Just roll it up. Let it sit so the moisture from the rice will cause the Nori to stick to itself. Then, slice it up and enjoy!

Image

There you have it. DIY sushi. Enjoy, and make life DIY!

