Last Thursday I awoke in the wee hours of the morning. A trip downstairs to the bathroom was in order. I typically sit and wake up enough to safely descend the stairs, because once, several years ago, I fell down the last three stairs, thinking I was already at the bottom. For whatever reason, I did not do that on this particular Thursday morning. This time, I fell down the last 2 steps because my left foot did not make full contact and down I went. So, I finally decided it was time to do something I had been threatening to do since the LAST time I fell down the stairs. It was time to install a handrail.
I went to Lowe’s and found a nice piece of low profile oak hand rail and some brackets.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This one was a little barfed up on the back side. When the cashier pointed it out, she asked, “Is that going to be a problem?”, to which I replied, “Not if you give me a discount.” She did give me a 10% discount, so don’t be afraid to ask even the big box store to cut you a break when a product is not perfect, but you can work with it. My sander smoothed that right out, and since it was on the underside, it doesn’t show.
Next, I measured how high I wanted the railing on my post…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I wanted a nice little bevel on the ends, so I set my saw table to 20 degrees…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cut that puppy off to the correct length; remember, measure twice, cut once!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Then, I applied an all in one stain and polyurethane to bring out the grain and protect the wood…I Buffed it between with fine steel wool, and used two coats…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Before I installed the railing to the brackets, I predrilled the holes into the railing, as oak is VERY hard, and you won’t just drive a screw into it. I also predrilled the holes in the posts. To keep from drilling all the way through the railing, I put a piece of masking tape on the drill bit at the same length as the screw.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Attach the brackets to the posts…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Attach the railing to the brackets, et voila’!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Hopefully this will help me stay on my feet. I know my sore tailbone hopes so. Now go make life DIY!

