OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I was standing in line at the grocery the other day, with this pineapple on the belt, waiting to check out. A fella in line behind me asked, “How do ya skin one a them things?”
I said, “It’s really not that difficult.” He said, “It’s probably more work than it’s worth, huh?”, to which I replied, “Oh, no! There are few things that taste better than a ripe fresh pineapple.”
This got me to thinking. I bet there are people who don’t buy whole pineapples, because they aren’t sure how to prepare them. So, allow me to show you.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cut off the top and bottom and stand it on end…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Begin making a series of slices down, rotating the fruit to remove a thin slice of the peel, until the whole thing is peeled. Cut it in half,
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
lay the halves on the cutting board, cut into quarters,
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Then use your knife to remove the tough strip of core on each pineapple spear. You can cut them further into chunks, if you like. Store in refrigerator, if you can keep from eating it all up before it gets there!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
So the next time you see a sale on fresh pineapple, save yourself some change and cut it up instead of buying the high priced stuff that they have already cut up for you, and make life DIY!

