I discovered the unfortunate fact a couple of years ago that I apparently have an allergy to wheat and/or gluten. Initially, I was really bummed. But now, I have found that it is really not that bad. Now, I love pasta, breads, tortillas. There are really great rice pastas, though, so no problem there. There are still corn tortillas…that’s good. But what if I want a sandwich? There are commercial gluten free breads available, but most of them have impressed me about as much as making a sandwich with cardboard. So, being the DIYer I am, I began to experiment with different recipes I had found online. Then, last Christmas, my Mom gifted me with this:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I set about almost immediately and made some gluten free croissants, which were pretty good. But I really needed a good recipe for a bread that would slice into nice sandwich sizes slices and hold up to easting without falling apart into handfuls of crumbs, not to mention a recipe that actually tasted good. I have now twice made the Egg Bread recipe in this book. After mixing the flour blend, all the ingredients are stirred together. There is no kneading of this bread; gotta love that.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The dough is placed into the greased loaf pan and smoothed over with the back of a wet spoon.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Once it is all smoothed out like this,
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
cover with some plastic wrap after a light spritz with some cooking spray. Allow to double in bulk and bake according to directions. Cool on a wire rack and enjoy. It will need to be refrigerated, as it will mold in a matter of a few days if left out on the counter. If you wanna get the book, check it out here:
https://secure.livingwithout.com/subscribe/multiproduct3.html?IPAuth_livingwithout=cmVuZWVAY3JvY2hldHJlbmVlLmNvbToxNDQzMzI1OmxpdmluZ3dpdGhvdXQ6MjA0ZDdjOTktOTQ0My03YmQ4LWZjMjgtOTYyNGNmZDRjMjQ0&s=GL_PD_GFGuidesROTW&st=PPC&t=B_I_TOTW

