Okay, I hope you aren’t tired of my upcycling old wool clothing yet! A couple of years ago I found a cute patchwork wool vest and bought it thinking I would actually be able to wear it. Well, in that couple of years it has hung in my closet, never quite fitting me right. In the interest of making things for the craft fair and getting excess things out of my house, I decided it was time the vest got a facelift. I felt it would make a cute purse.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
First, sew along the front edge, with the buttons all buttoned up…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Then, tack down the belt in the back. I could have removed it, but thought it would be cuter to leave it.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Next, sew the front to the back across the bottom…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sew the armholes closed, then cut the top portion of the vest off, just above where the top button is. I used my serger to go around the top with some decorative thread, making sure to catch the lining material. I like to use Fray Check to secure the serging before trimming the end off.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I happened to have some lighter weight leather laying around, so I cut a pair of handles and a flap to close the bag and sewed them in place. I cut a hole in the flap just right for the top button to go through.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
What do you think? Cute, huh? The problem with all this stuff I am making to sell, I keep thinking about keeping it! Have you got any vests in your closet that you don’t wear? Go make yourself a new bag while you make life DIY!

