I don’t tend to eat a lot of meat, but last night I had a hankering for a good old-fashioned hamburger. This created a dilemma, however, as I did not have any gluten free hamburger buns at home and the closest store that had any to buy was 30 miles away. What to do? Drive 30 miles to Mountain Home, to the only store that is open after 5 p.m. and buy hamburger buns, or go home and make my own? Well, it was already 6 o’clock, meaning I would have to hustle if I made the drive, but being the DIY Queen that I am, I decided I would just go home and make my own.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
So here’s the recipe I concocted:
Renee’s Gluten Free Hamburger Buns

1 Cup brown rice flour
1/4 Cup Tapioca starch
1/4 Cup Potato starch (no flour)
1/2 Cup Gluten Free Oats
1 1/2 Tsp Yeast
3/4 Tsp Salt
Mix all these dry ingredients in a bowl. In another bowl, whisk together:
1 Tsp honey (local, if you can)
1/2 Cup of warm water
2 eggs, room temperature
1/8 Cup of good olive oil (I used Raimondo’s Roasted Garlic)
1 Tsp Apple Cider Vinegar

Once you have all the wet ingredients whisked together, slowly whisk in the dry ingredients. Whisk until there are no lumps. This will result in more of a thick batter than an actual dough. I separated the dough amongst three individual casseroles. I think a doughnut pan would work great also, and make slightly smaller buns. I got 3 large buns with this recipe. Let the buns rise for 30 minutes and bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit until they are golden brown on top, about 15 minutes.

Now take your buns, split them, slap a burger on and dress it with whatever you want. I had cheese, grilled onions, pickle, mustard, mayo and ketchup. That should satisfy my burger craving for awhile! I think these buns would also toast up great for garlic bread. I may have to try that tonight.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
If you eat gluten free also, give these a try. I think you will approve! Make life on your own terms, and make it DIY!

