Tags

, , ,

I picked asparagus, again, last evening. I have put quite a bit into the freezer already, have eaten my fair share, and as I was walking home from the garden, was pondering what else I could do with this asparagus, as I still had a bag in the fridge from the last picking. I don’t know why it never occurred to me until that exact moment, but I decided it was high time I tried pickling some asparagus. I love all kinds of pickles; in fact, I have yet to meet a pickle I don’t like. I am not as crazy about sweet pickles, but will eat them, and they certainly have their place. Savory, sour pickles are my favorites. So, I snapped the tough ends off and put the spears into the fridge last night, as I was out of pickling spices until after work today.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The tough ends I save for soup (more about that in Friday’s post!), and the tender tops will make our pickles. The recipe I used came from a book titled, “Preserving the Harvest”, but this recipe comes very close. My recipe did not include the onion and pepper, but if I make it again, I may do that! Canning your own food is very satisfying. You know where it comes from, what’s in it and how it was prepared. There’s no guessing.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Do you like to can food from your farm or garden? I would love to know if anyone has a favorite recipe for pickles…of any kind! Share with me how you make life DIY!

