Tags

, , ,

As promised in yesterday’s post, I said I would share with you how I make asparagus soup with the tough ends. I put the ends left over from yesterday into the pressure cooker (if you don’t have one, why not? They are easy to use and will speed up a lot of cooking…but I digress), put a little water in there and pressure cook for about 10 minutes at 10 pounds of pressure. Let the cooker vent slowly on its own, open the lid and let the asparagus cool. Then blend the asparagus and the cooking liquid in small batches and strain the resulting puree’. You want the pulp, but not the stringy parts, so use the back of a spoon or spatula to press it through the strainer.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I simmered the resulting liquid, reducing it by half. The tender ends that I trimmed last night to make the pickled asparagus were thrown in and simmered. The immersion blender can then be used to puree’ the remaining whole pieces of asparagus. Then use the puree’ in your favorite cream of asparagus soup recipe! I hope everyone isn’t tired of hearing about asparagus…we will be having other produce coming out of the garden soon. The asparagus season is nearly over, and we are now picking strawberries. I have a strawberry pie planned for this weekend, so check back here to see how that turns out! Keep making life DIY!

