Tags

, , , ,

If ya’ll have been paying attention, you have likely noticed that I have been doing a lot of harvesting lately. You are probably wondering what the heck I am doing with all that produce.  Well, in this post, I made some bread and butter pjckles. For many years now I have used the tried and true recipe from the Ball Canning book.

image

I started by washing the cukes and peeling the onions. I like to slice everything on a mandolin for uniformity.

image

Next, layer the onions and cucumber slices with 1/3 cup of kosher salt and top with ice cubes. Let ’em sit for 1 1/2 hours.

image

Drain, rinse and drain a couple of times.

image

Combine the vinegar, sugar and spices in a pot, bring to a boil, add the cukes and onions, bring it back to a boil.

image

In the meantime,  you should have had your jars and lids in a pot of nearly boiling water. Pack the hot pickles into the jars, (I like my pickles in pint jars) and process the pickles in a water bath canner for 10 m8nutes.

image

After the time is up, take them out and sit them on a towel on your counter. Soon you will hear pings from the jars, assuring you that everything is all sealed up. These pickles are ready to eat immediately,  pretty much. 

image

Or you can sit them on a shelf and admire how pretty they are. For a little while, anyway. Do you make your own pickles? Share what kind of pickles you like and make life DIY!

