Tags

,

Last month while driving home from vacation in Texas, Mom and I stopped at an Amish market. We got some cheese and some dried veggies and ate our lunch on the road while I kept driving. We had a package of dried okra and a package of assorted veggies, which included sweet potatoes,  beets, carrots and green beans.  We pondered about the possibility of being able to reproduce such snacks. Fast forward to last weekend, when I picked green beans and carrots.

image

I scrubbed, snapped and sliced in the mandolin,  parboiled the veggies, tossed them in some EVOO and some Cavender’s seasoning, stuck it all in the dehydrator and crossed my fingers.

image

image

The results? Well, while not exactly like the snacks from the Amish store, it is edible (provided you have good teeth), I will eat it, my dog likes it, and worse case scenario,  I can still throw it into soup. Have a great weekend and make life DIY!

