Tags

, , , ,

image

The weather here in the Ozarks, like much of the country, has been kinda weird.  Typically by now, the leaves have already blown off of the trees and I have already had at least one fire in the woodstove. Not so this year; the trees are still fairly green with spots of color here and there and today is in the 80’s. I am also usually done canning veggies from the garden. I went into the garden season with no intention of canning green beans, as I still had quite a few jars from last year. “We’ll just plant enough to have some batches of fresh during the summer”, we said.  So today, in (what we thought) was a last ditch chance to have one extra last meal of fresh green beans with potatoes and ham, we began to pick, and pick….and pick. We had only picked half of the row and already had a bushel! So I forged ahead, picking another half a bushel and decided I was getting too hot. (Too hot in October?  Yep.) We stopped picking, because we had enough for dinner, gave away two grocery sacks and now I am canning the rest. I just can’t stand to see them go to waste. Besides, that’s why we garden. It feeds us in more ways than one.

image

image

But I swear, after this, I am done canning this year…really. unless my tomatillos finally make enough fruit for salsa verde. Until then, I will be here today, finishing my green beans and knitting Christmas presents.  Make life DIY!

