So I have put myself in time out. “What the heck are you talking about?” You may be thinking. I have been practicing as a physical therapist for the last 16 years. Recently, when the company I was working for made the decision to withdraw from the rehab where I worked, I was forced to either A: fund a job elsewhere,  or B: hire on with the new therapy company that was replacing the company I worked for. I initially had a strong aversion to taking option B, for reasons I could not even explain. But they made me an offer I found difficult to say no to, so I accepted the position as Director of Rehab. After 6 weeks of extreme frustration at the lack of training and support from the new company, as well as mandates on how I should treat my patients from people who would never even set foot in the state, let alone the clinic, I said, “ENOUGH!”
Don’t get me started on the often unethical behavior one finds in corporate medicine. That isn’t what this post is about, anyway. I basically said, in as professional way I could, “Take this job and shove it”.
I have no one but myself to support and have the ability to get another job. Later. When I get ready.
For now, I have the means to take a couple of months off. I need to garden and do several things around the farm that have needed doing for some time now, but I just didn’t have the time or energy to do those things.
Today, I planted the tomatoes and peppers. I harvested the greens and they are in the canner as I write this. At least I will be able to eat!

image

image

image

I cut the seed heads off of the parsnips, because while I do like parsnips, they have reseeded themselves for the last 3 years. It would be nice if we could decide where they grow next. I still have some eggplant to plant, as well as some sweet potatoes.  For the next little while, life is going to be simple. I like being on sabbatical. So if anyone is looking for me, I will be over here, making life DIY.

