Tags

, , ,

I totally missed picking our sour cherries this year, but I did beat the birds to the gooseberries. In spite of picking gooseberries for the last several years, I have never made, or eaten for that matter, gooseberry pie. I decided it was high time. The thorny bushes gave up nearly 3/4 of a gallon.

image

image

First, one has to remove the stems and what’s left of the blossom.

image

While the berries cook with some sugar, I got a gluten free crust ready. I like Bob’s Red Mill all purpose gluten free flour mix. I use a Martha Stewart recipe that is really good and handles very much like a regular piecrust, provided you keep it VERY cold when you are not working it. You can find the recipe here.

image

image

image

image

image

It was still a bit warm after dinner, and topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, was quite yummy. Hope ya’ll are having a great Sunday! Make life DIY!

