Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I have been very blessed in my life with many friends. Today, a very old and dear friend is coming to have lunch with me. For various reasons,  she has some dietary restrictions. In casting about for a nice menu plan, I came up with a lovely, refreshing summer salad.
I have been trying to grow bulb fennel for about 3 years with no success. This year we tried a new variety that is bulbing beautifully.

image

With fennel being $4-$5 dollars for one bulb around here, if you can even find it, it is a crop worth growing.
I shaved the fennel on my mandolin with the medium slice insert along with half of an English cucmber. Then with the thick slice insert, I sliced up about a dozen ripe strawberries.

image

I then added 1/8 of a cup each of Raimondo Winery’s Sicilian Olio Verde olive oil and Honey Ginger balsamic vinegar.

image

image

With a little salt and pepper and a quick toss, this is a refreshing and tasty salad that will complement any Summertime meal. If you want to find out more about Margie and her winery, click here, and make life DIY!

