So last night after we found dinner and got back to the room, I was whipped. So that is why there was no post last night.
We started out of Cloghane yesterday around 9:30, a fine mist enveloping us as we made our way out of the quiet village.

image

It took us about 1 1/2 hours to get to the Fermoyle Strand, the beach that circles Brandon Bay. As we hit the beach, the rain began to diminish and in the distance, we could see a thin line of blue in the distant sky. Soon the rain stopped and we were able to shed our rain gear.

image

And the sun tried hard to shine. The Fermoyle Strand was about 7 km long. It was beautiful and pretty easy walking. The sand was firm and we even took our boots off for several kilometers, walking in the water, which was cold, but felt good. There were lots of pretty seashells, which we may or may not have picked up.

image

I also found an unusual item, identified for us by a couple of local fisherman as a dog fish egg case that had washed up on the beach.

image

We sat on the beach to eat our lunch. By the end of the walk, my knees were aching, but I took some ibuprofen when we got in and was much better.

image

We walked to Spillane’s pub, where we visited with another hiker who we had met along the way, Beatta  from Germany, and ate the biggest crab claws I have seen in my entire life!

image

We were collected at Spillane’s and taken to our guesthouse in Castlegregory, the Castle House.

image

The beds were comfy here, and the breakfast delightful. Proprietor Sheila Rohan also happens to be the 1983 Calor Housewife of the Year. As expected, she was a wonderful hostess.
This morning, I awoke with a very ouchie left knee, so I took 800mg of ibuprofen, and by the time we had breakfast, the pain was under better control.  I continued to take ibuprofen on schedule, but with each step, the achiness got worse. I took several sit down breaks, which did help some. To make matters worse, our directions were not nearly as detailed today as on previous days. Within what turned out to be 2-3 miles from Seaview, our guesthouse for tonight, I was really slugging it out. Not knowing how much further we had at that point, I called the guesthouse to see how far it was. She said we weren’t far, and offered to collect us. At that point we had walked 16.5 km, which was half a kilometer further than we were supposed to have walked. We decided to accept her kind offer. My feet are swollen now and knees are unhappy, but I have my feet up, have had dinner and will be hitting the shower soon. Today was more beach walking, around Tralee Bay.

image

image

So, we are done walking the Dingle Way. My knees and feet are tired and sore, but I will never forget this experience. Tomorrow,  we head to Killarney, then we fly out Friday for home. I plan on showing you some sights from Killarney tomorrow!

